Skip to Content

Vegan E-Numbers List

Coloured Boiled Sweets

When I first started my vegan baking journey, I had to suddenly become mindful of the ingredients I was consuming. I avoided the most obvious things like meat, eggs and dairy but I didn’t realise that many e-numbers were not actually vegan.

E-numbers can be found in pretty much every processed food but particularly things with artificial colours and flavours. So as a baker, you’ll need to watch out for non-vegan e-numbers in things like cake decorations, sprinkles, frostings, and food colourings for things like red velvet cake.

Which e-numbers are vegan?

The good news is that many e-numbers are vegan friendly! I’ve created a list of all of the e-numbers I could find, along with whether or not they’re suitable for a vegan diet. I created this e-number checker list using a few websites, including Food Info and Noshly for the e-number vegan/non-vegan status, and Wikipedia for the names.

I also included the non-vegan e-numbers because I personally find it useful to be able to just search any particular e-number to see if it is vegan or not, rather than trailing through a long list to see if it’s there. To search this page, just press control + F on your keyboard, type in the e-number in the text box that appears, then press enter.

Let me know if you come across any other e-numbers that are not included in the list and I’ll be sure to add them.

Food colourings

E-numberVegan?Name/also known as
E100YesCurcumin
E101YesRiboflavin
E101aYesFlavin Mononucleotide
E102YesTartrazine
E103YesAlkannin
E104YesQuinoline Yellow
E105YesFast Yellow or Fast Yellow AB
E106YesRiboflavin-5’phosphate
E107YesYellow 2G
E110YesSunset Yellow FCF or Orange Yellow S
E111YesOrange GGN
E120NoCarmine, Natural Red 4 or Cochineal
E121YesCitrus Red 2 or Orcein
E122YesCarmoisine 
E123YesAmaranth 
E124YesPonceau 4R or Cochineal Red A
E125YesScarlet GN or Ponceau SX
E126YesPonceau 6R
E127YesErythrosine or Red 3
E128YesRed 2G
E129YesAllura Red AC or Red 40
E130YesIndanthrene Blue RS
E131YesPatent Blue V
E132YesIndigo carmine or Blue 2
E133YesBrilliant Blue FCF
E140YesChlorophylls or Chlorophyllins
E141YesCopper Complex of Chlorophylls/Chlorophyllins
E142YesGreen S or Brilliant Green BS
E143YesFast Green FCF
E150aYesPlain caramel, caustic caramel or spirit caramel
E150bYesCaustic sulfite caramel
E150cYesAmmonia caramel, baker’s caramel or confectioner’s caramel
E150dYesSulfite ammonia caramel
E151YesBlack PN or Brilliant Black BN
E152YesBlack 7984
E153NoCarbon Black
E154YesBrown FK or Kipper Brown
E155YesBrown HT
E160aYesAlpha-carotene, Gamma-carotene or Beta-carotene
E160bYesAnnatto, Bixin or Norbixin
E160cYesPaprika Extract, Capsanthin or Capsorbin 
E160dYesLycopene
E160eYesBeta-apo-8′-carotenal
E160fYesEthyl Ester of Beta-apo-8′-carotenic Acid
E161aYesFlavoxanthin
E161bYesLutein
E161cYesCryptoxanthin
E161dYesRubixanthin
E161eYesViolaxanthin
E161fYesRhodoxanthin
E161gNoCanthaxanthin
E161hNoZeaxanthin
E161iNoCitranaxanthin
E161jNoAstaxanthin
E162YesBeetroot Red or Betanin
E163YesAnthocyanins
E170YesCalcium Carbonate
E171YesTitanium Dioxide
E172YesIron Oxides or Iron Hydroxides
E173YesAluminium
E174YesSilver
E175YesGold
E180YesPigment Rubine or Lithol Rubine BK
E181YesTannin

Preservatives

Non-vegan and vegan e-numbers that are used as preservatives.

E-NumberVegan?Name/Also known as
E200YesSorbic Acid
E201YesSodium Sorbate
E202YesPotassium Sorbate
E203YesCalcium Sorbate
E210YesBenzoic Acid
E211YesSodium Benzoate
E212YesPotassium Benzoate
E213YesCalcium Benzoate
E214YesEthylparaben
E215YesSodium Ethyl Para-Hydroxybenzoate
E216YesPropylparaben
E217YesSodium Propyl Para-hydroxybenzoate
E218YesMethylparaben
E219YesSodium Methyl Para-Hydroxybenzoate
E220YesSulphur Dioxide
E221YesSodium Sulphite
E222YesSodium Bisulphite
E223YesSodium Metabisulphite
E224YesPotassium Metabisulphite
E225YesPotassium Sulphite
E226YesCalcium Sulphite
E227YesCalcium Hydrogen Sulphite
E228YesPotassium Hydrogen Sulphite
E230YesBiphenyl or Diphenyl
E231YesOrthophenyl Phenol
E232YesSodium Orthophenyl Phenol
E233YesThiabendazole
E234YesNisin
E235YesNatamycin or Pimaracin
E236YesFormic Acid
E237YesSodium Formate
E238YesCalcium Formate
E239YesHexamine
E240YesFormaldehyde
E242YesDimethyl Dicarbonate
E249YesPotassium Nitrite
E250YesSodium Nitrite
E251YesSodium Nitrate
E252NoPotassium Nitrate or Saltpetre
E260YesAcetic Acid
E261YesPotassium Acetate
E262YesSodium Acetates or Sodium Hydrogen Acetate
E263YesCalcium Acetate
E264YesAmmonium Acetate
E270SometimesLactic Acid
E280YesPropionic Acid
E281YesSodium Propionate
E282YesCalcium Propionate
E283YesPotassium Propionate
E284YesBoric Acid
E285YesSodium Tetraborate
E290YesCarbon Dioxide
E296YesMalic Acid
E297YesFumaric Acid

Antioxidants and Acidity Regulators

E-NumberVegan?Name/Also known as
E300YesAscorbic Acid or Vitamin C
E301YesSodium Ascorbate
E302YesCalcium Ascorbate
E303YesPotassium Ascorbate
E304SometimesFatty-Acid Esters of Ascorbic Acid
E306YesTocopherol-Rich Extract
E307YesAlpha-Tocopherol
E308YesGamma-Tocopherol
E309YesDelta-Tocopherol
E310YesPropyl Gallate
E311YesOctyl Gallate
E312YesDodecyl Gallate
E315YesErythorbic Acid
E316YesSodium Erythorbate
E317YesErythorbin Acid
E318YesSodium Erythorbin
E319Yestert-Butylhydroquinone
E320YesButylated Hydroxyanisole
E321YesButylated Hydroxytoluene
E322NoLecithin
E325NoSodium Lactate
E326NoPotassium Lactate
E327NoCalcium Lactate
E329YesMagnesium Lactate
E330YesCitric Acid
E331YesSodium Citrates or Monosodium Citrate
E332YesPotassium Citrates
E333YesCalcium Citrates
E334YesTartaric Acid
E335YesSodium Tartrates
E336YesPotassium Tartrates
E337YesSodium Potassium Tartrate
E338YesPhosphoric Acid
E339YesSodium Phosphates
E340YesPotassium Phosphates
E341YesCalcium Phosphates
E343YesMagnesium Phosphates
E350YesSodium Malates
E351YesPotassium Malate
E352YesCalcium Malates
E353YesMetatartaric Acid
E354YesCalcium Tartrate
E355YesAdipic Acid
E356YesSodium Adipate
E357YesPotassium Adipate
E363YesSuccinic Acid
E365YesSodium Fumarate
E366YesPotassium Fumarate
E367YesCalcium Fumarate
E370Yes1,4-Heptonolactone
E375YesNiacin
E380YesTriammonium
E381YesAmmoniumferrocitrate
E385YesCalcium Disodium Ethylene Diamine Tetra-Acetate

Thickeners, Stabilisers and Emulsifiers

E-NumberVegan?Name/Also known as
E400YesAlginic Acid
E401YesSodium Alginate
E402YesPotassium Alginate
E403YesAmmonium Alginate
E404YesCalcium Alginate
E405YesPropane-1,2-Diol Alginate
E406YesAgar
E407YesCarrageenan
E407aYesProcessed Eucheuma Seaweed
E410YesLocust Bean Gum
E412YesGuar Gum
E413YesTragacanth
E414YesAcacia Gum
E415YesXanthan Gum
E416YesKaraya Gum
E417YesTara Gum
E418YesGellan Gum
E420YesSorbitol
E421YesMannitol
E422NoGlycerol
E425YesKonjac or Konjac Gum
E430NoPolyoxyethylene (8) Stearate
E431NoPolyoxyethylene (40) Stearate
E432NoPolyoxyethylene 20 Sorbitan Monolaurate
E433NoPolyoxyethylene 20 Sorbitan Mono-oleate
E434NoPolyoxyethylene 20 Sorbitan Monopalmitate
E435NoPolyoxyethylene 20 Sorbitan Monostearate
E436NoPolyoxyethylene 20 Sorbitan Tristearate
E440YesPectins
E441NoGelatine
E442NoAmmonium Phosphatides
E444YesSucrose Acetate Isobutyrate
E445YesGlycerol Esters of Wood Rosins
E450YesDiphosphates
E451YesTriphosphates
E452YesPolyphosphates
E459YesBeta-Cyclodextrine
E460YesCellulose or Microcrystalline Cellulose
E461YesMethyl Cellulose
E462YesEthyl Cellulose
E463YesHydroxypropyl Cellulose
E464YesHydroxy Propyl Methyl Cellulose
E465YesEthyl Methyl Cellulose
E466YesCarboxymethyl Cellulose
E468YesCrosslinked Sodium Carboxymethyl Cellulose
E469YesEnzymically Hydrolysed Carboxymethylcellulose
E470aNoSodium, Potassium and Calcium Salts of Fatty Acids
E470bNoMagnesium Salts of Fatty Acids
E471NoMono & Diglycerides of Fatty Acids
E472aNoAcetic Acid Esters of Mono & Diglycerides of Fatty Acids
E472bNoLactic Acid Esters of Mono & Diglycerides of Fatty Acids
E472cNoCitric Acid Esters of Mono & Diglycerides of Fatty Acids
E472dNoTartaric Acid Esters of Mono & Diglycerides of Fatty Acids
E472eNoMono & Diacetyl Tartaric Acid Esters of Mono & Diglycerides of Fatty Acids
E472fnoMixed Acetic & Tartaric Acid Esters of Mono & Diglycerides of Fatty Acids
E473NoSucrose Esters of Fatty Acids
E474NoSucroglycerides
E475NoPolyglycerol Esters of Fatty Acids
E476YesPolyglycerol Polyricinoleate
E477NoPropane-1, 2-diol Esters of Fatty Acids
E478NoLactylated Fatty Acid Esters of Glycerol and Propane-1
E479NoThermally Oxidized Soya Bean Oil Interacted With Mono & Diglycerides of Fatty Acids
E481NoSodium Stearoyl-2-lactylate
E482NoCalcium Stearoyl-2-lactylate
E483NoStearyl Tartrate
E491NoSorbitan Monostearate
E492NoSorbitan Tristearate
E493NoSorbitan Monolaurate
E494NoSorbitan Monooleat
E495NoSorbitan Monopalmitate

Anti-Caking Agents and Acidity Regulators

E-NumberVegan?Name/Also known as
E500YesSodium Carbonates
E501YesPotassium Carbonates
E503YesAmmonium Carbonates
E504YesMagnesium Carbonates
E507YesHydrochloric Acid
E508YesPotassium Chloride
E509YesCalcium Chloride
E510YesAmmonium Chloride
E511YesMagnesium Chloride
E512YesStannous Chloride
E513YesSulphuric Acid
E517YesAmmonium Sulphate
E518YesMagnesium Sulfate or Epsom Salts
E519YesCopper(II) Sulphate
E520YesAluminium Sulphate
E521YesAluminium Sodium Sulphate
E522YesAluminium Potassium Sulphate
E523YesAluminium Ammonium Sulphate
E524YesSodium Hydroxide
E525YesPotassium Hydroxide
E526YesCalcium Hydroxide
E527YesAmmonium Hydroxide
E528YesMagnesium Hydroxide
E529YesCalcium Oxide
E530YesMagnesium Oxide
E535YesSodium Ferrocyanide
E536YesPotassium Ferrocyanide
E538YesCalcium Ferrocyanide
E540YesDicalcium Diphosphate
E541YesSodium Aluminium Phosphate
E542NoBone Phosphate
E543YesCalcium Sodium Polyphosphate
E544YesCalcium Polyphosphate
E545YesAmmonium Polyphosphate
E550YesSodium Silicate
E551YesSilicon Dioxide
E552YesCalcium Silicate
E553aYesMagnesium Silicate or Magnesium Trisilicate
E553bYesTalc
E554YesSodium Aluminosilicate
E555YesPotassium Aluminium Silicate
E556YesCalcium Aluminosilicate
E558YesBentonite
E559YesAluminium Silicate or Kaolin
E570NoStearic Acid
E572NoMagnesium Stearate
E574YesGluconic Acid
E575YesGlucono-Delta-Lactone
E576YesSodium Gluconate
E577YesPotassium Gluconate
E578YesCalcium Gluconate
E579YesFerrous Gluconate
E585SometimesFerrous Lactate

Flavour Enhancers

E-NumberVegan?Name/Also known as
E620YesGlutamic Acid
E621YesMonosodium Glutamate (MSG)
E622YesMonopotassium Glutamate
E623YesCalcium Diglutamate
E624YesMonoammonium Glutamate
E625YesMagnesium Diglutamate
E626SometimesGuanylic Acid
E627NoDisodium Guanylate
E628SometimesDipotassium Guanylate
E629SometimesCalcium Guanylate
E630NoInosinic Acid
E631NoDisodium Inosinate
E632NoDipotassium Inosinate
E633NoCalcium Inosinate
E634NoCalcium 5′-Ribonucleotides
E635NoDisodium 5′-Ribonucleotides
E636NoMaltol
E637NoEthyl Maltol
E640NoGlycine or Sodium Glycinate

Other E-Numbers

Miscellaneous non-vegan and vegan e-numbers.

E-NumberVegan?Name/Also known as
E900YesDimethyl Polysiloxane
E901NoBeeswax
E902YesCandelilla Wax
E903YesCarnauba wax
E904NoShellac
E905YesParaffins
E905aYesMineral Oil
E905bYesPetrolatum
E905cYesMicrocrystalline wax
E906YesGum benzoic
E907YesCrystalline wax
E908YesRice bran wax
E910NoL-cysteine
E912YesMontan wax
E913NoLanolin or Sheep wool grease
E914YesOxidized Polyethylene Wax
E915YesEsters of Colophony
E920NoL-cysteine
E921NoL-cysteine
E922YesPotassium Persulfate
E923YesAmmonium Persulfate
E924YesPotassium Bromate
E925YesChlorine
E926YesChlorine Dioxide
E927YesAzodicarbonamide
E928YesBenzoyl Peroxide
E930YesCalcium Peroxide
E938YesArgon
E939YesHelium
E940Yesdichlorodifluoromethane
E941YesNitrogen
E942YesNitrous Oxide
E943aYesButane
E943bYesIsobutane
E944YesPropane
E948YesOxygen
E949YesHydrogen
E950YesAcesulfame
E951YesAspartame
E952YesCyclamic Acid or Cyclohexylsulfamic Acid
E953YesIsomalt
E954YesSaccharin
E955YesSucralose
E956NoAlitame 
E957YesThaumatin
E959YesNeohesperidine Dihydrochalcone
E965YesMaltitol
E966NoLactitol
E967YesXylitol
E999YesQuillaia Extract
E1103YesInvertase
E1105YesLysozyme
E1200YesPolydextrose
E1201YesPolyvinylpyrrolidone
E1202YesPolyvinylpolypyrrolidone
E1400YesDextrin
E1401YesModified Starch
E1402YesAlkaline Modified Starch
E1403YesBleached Starch
E1404YesOxidized Starch
E1410YesMonostarch Phosphate
E1411YesDi-starch Glycerol
E1412YesDistarch Phosphate
E1413YesPhosphated Distarch Phosphate
E1414YesAcetylated Distarch Phosphate
E1420YesAcetylated Starch or Starch Acetate
E1421YesAcetylated Starch or Starch Acetate
E1422YesAcetylated Distarch Adipate
E1430YesDistarch Glycerine
E1440YesHydroxy Propyl Starch
E1441YesHydroxy Propyl Distarch Glycerine
E1442YesHydroxy Propyl Distarch Phosphate
E1450YesStarch Sodium Octenyl Succinate
E1451YesAcetylated Oxidised Starch
E1501YesBenzylated Hydrocarbons
E1502YesButane-1
E1503YesCastor Oil
E1504YesEthyl Acetate
E1505YesTriethyl Citrate
E1510YesEthanol
E1516YesGlycerol Monoacetate
E1517YesGlyceryl Diacetate or Diacetin
E1518YesGlyceryl Triacetate or Triacetin
E1519YesBenzyl Alcohol
E1520YesPropylene Glycol
E1525YesHydroxy Ethyl Cellulose
BakedByClo is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com. This site may contain some of these links to Amazon.com & other affiliate programs. If you make a purchase through one of those links, BakedByClo will receive a small commission from the purchase at no additional cost to you.

Gluten Free Cookie Thumbnail
← Previous
Vegan Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Cookies
Vanilla Mug Cake With Spoonful Taken Out Of It
Next →
Vegan Vanilla Mug Cake

Privacy Policy