Is Sorbet Vegan? Everything You Need To Know
Sorbet is a cool, sweet frozen dessert, great for cooling down on a hot Summer’s day. It comes in many different variations, but is sorbet vegan? Keep reading to find out.
It’s starting to get warmer here in the UK and I’ve been thinking about all kinds of frozen treats to enjoy this Spring and Summer. The most obvious ones being ice cream and sorbet!
I’ve been writing lots of posts for an ‘Is It Vegan?’ series for my blog, which I hope will help new vegans out. Today I thought I’d do a post on sorbet- is sorbet vegan?
Is sorbet the same as ice cream?
No, sorbet and ice cream are not the same thing. Ice cream is made with milk and/or cream and sorbet is made with fruits. You can also get dark chocolate sorbet, which has a creamy texture due to the fats in the chocolate.
Sorbet is also different from sherbet, although the two often get confused. Sherbet is usually made with dairy whereas sorbet usually isn’t. Think of sherbet as the middleman between ice cream and sorbet!
Is sorbet vegan?
Most of the time, yes, sorbet is vegan. It’s usually made using pureed fruit or fruit juice along with some sugar syrup. It almost never contains dairy however it does happen sometimes! Chocolate and lemon sorbets are the flavours most likely to contain dairy so always check the ingredients list before purchasing if possible. Make sure to keep an eye out for other ingredients such as honey or non-vegan e-numbers.
What sorbet brands are vegan?
Here are some of the vegan-friendly sorbet brands I found in the most popular UK supermarkets:
- Tesco mango, raspberry and lemon sorbet
- Little Moons pineapple & mandarin and very berry mochi sorbet
- Sainsbury’s raspberry and lemon sorbet
- Asda mango & passion fruit, raspberry and lemon sorbet
- Waitrose pomegranate and rose, lemon and mango sorbet
- M&S passion star martini sorbet tubs, gin & tonic sorbet tubs and lemon sorbet
- Ocado have Hackney Gelato sorbet in dark chocolate, mango and raspberry, Remeo Gelato sorbet lollies in mango and blackcurrant, and Sambazon acai sorbet.
Please note that although the sorbets listed above are made to a vegan recipe, some of them may have a risk of cross contamination with milk products and therefore won’t be suitable for those with milk allergies. If you’re having trouble finding one that doesn’t have a cross contamination warning, keep reading to find out how to make your own allergy-friendly sorbet!
How to make a 2 ingredient sorbet
Homemade sorbet is one of my go-to desserts when it’s hot outside. There’s nothing better than that fruity taste and creamy texture. I used to buy mine in tubs from the supermarket until I tried sorbet from an ice cream shop a few years ago. I noticed it was way creamier (or perhaps juicier) than the icy sorbet I was used to.
Miraculously, I found that achieving this creamy texture was not only super simple but also a bit healthier than shop-bought sorbet. All you need is a food processor or blender, some frozen fruit and a liquid sweetener of choice. I prefer using agave nectar but maple syrup will work too.
Pop the frozen fruit and sweetener into your blender/food processor and blend until smooth. And that’s it!
The amount of sweetener you use depends on your preference and also which type of fruit you use. A mango sorbet will need less sweetener than blackberry sorbet for example. I used 350g of frozen strawberries and 5 tablespoons of agave nectar for the one pictured below.
Add a small amount of sweetener, taste, and add more if necessary. You can add a little bit of water if you’re sorbet isn’t blending too well. You could also try switching things up by adding some extras such as a squeeze of lime, a handful of mint or a splash of pineapple juice.
This sorbet recipe is best served immediately. However, if you’re planning to make it and freeze it ahead of time, just give it another quick blend before serving.
So, is sorbet vegan? Yes, sorbet is vegan most of the time. Ingredients to watch out for would be honey and, in rare cases, dairy. This all depends on where you purchase it from and it’s best to always check the packaging or ask for the ingredients list when possible.